Student Government Senate | Capital University, Columbus Ohio


SG Senate

  • The Senate 

    The Senate is comprised of four standing committees and may include temporary committees as required and determined by the Cabinet and Executive Board. Senators serve for one year and are elected in the spring. Freshman senators are elected in the fall during a special election to fill vacant senate spots.  A senator is permitted to either represent their Academic Class or Departmental School.  

    Executive Board
    Jason Fugate - President
    Blake Hillard - Executive Vice President
    Taylor Collett - Vice President of Communications
    Nick Hernandez - Vice President of Finance
    Dahkota Parish - Speaker of the Senate
    Travis Arnold - Parliamentarian

    Senate Members
    Aaron Bryan
    J.J. Price
    Nick Harp
    Hunter Orr
    Ethan Wittkorn
    Allison Kerman
    Jack Spiller
    Andrew Rus
    Daniel Fry
    Jeremiah Haines
    Desiree Molina
    Jackie Mendoza Ballard
    Trevon Simmons
    Noah Holzapfel
    Rachel Smith
    Caitlyn Fuentes
    Garrett Kehr
    Andrew Decker
    Sam Waldvogel
    Kathryn Poe
    Austin Linn
    Mike Kepler
    Kane Murray
    Abbi Baker
    Haley Wehner
    Blake Hamler


    To actively seek out and represent the opinions of the student body to the University through consideration of recommendations and resolutions.

    To Allocate funds as requested and submitted by Approved Student Organizations and to regulate the operation of Student Government and its components by the consideration of legislation. 

    Academic Affairs Committee  

    Purpose:  To consider issues regarding the academic experience of students such as, but not limited to, majors/minors, General Education Requirements, academic advising and academic support services.  
    Committee Head: Allison Kerman, Email:   

    Governance Committee 

    Purpose: To consider issues such as, but not limited to, university planning; facilities, technology and infrastructure; admissions and financial aid; vendor relations; and university administrative support areas.  
    Committee Head: Sam Waldvogel, Email: 

    Student Life Committee

    Purpose: To review issues regarding the out-of-class experiences of students such as, but not limited to, residence life and commuter concerns, campus safety, dining, health and wellness, recreation, and athletics.
    Committee Head: Noah Holzapfel, Email:


    Non-Standing Committees 

    Student Organization Allocation Committee 

    Purpose: To consider requests for funding from student organizations received by published deadlines and to determine funding allocations within the scope of the committee's authority and recommend allocations for consideration by the Senate.   

    Budget Committee 

    Purpose: To develop the annual budget for presentation to Senate and to serve as the review committee for student organization funding appeals. 

    Judicial Committee

    Purpose: To investigate reports of impropriety or official misconduct and bring impeachment charges to the Senate along with serving as the review committee for appeals resulting from sanctions assessed for Election Rule violations.